Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone

The eighth volume in the Outlander novel series. centered on time-traveling 20th century doctor Claire Randall and her 18th century Scottish Highlander warrior spouse Jamie Fraser

Diana Gabaldon

Release Date
November 23, 2021


Book Genres
Historical Fiction
Historical Romance

Book Series



Although the past appears to be the safest place to be, it is also the most perilous period to be alive.

The Jacobite Rising in 1746 tore Jamie Fraser and Claire Randall apart, and it took them twenty years to find each other again. The American Revolution is now threatening to do the same.

On Fraser’s Ridge in 1779, Claire and Jamie are reunited with their daughter, Brianna, her husband, Roger, and their children. The Frasers had assumed that having the family together was an unachievable goal.

Even in the backcountry of North Carolina, the consequences of war can be felt. Tensions are high in the Colonies, and local passions are boiling hot enough to boil Hell’s teakettle. Jamie is well aware that his tenants’ loyalties are divided, and that the fight will be on his doorstep before long.

Brianna and Roger are concerned that the perils that drove them to flee the twentieth century would catch up with them. Sometimes they wonder if exposing their family to the horrors of the 1700s, such as sickness, starvation, and looming war, was truly the safer option.

Not far away, young William Ransom is still dealing with the knowledge of his true father’s identity, and consequently his own, and Lord John Grey has reconciliations to make and perils to face on his son’s and his own behalf.

Meanwhile, the Revolutionary War is encroaching on Fraser’s Ridge. And now that the family is finally together, Jamie and Claire have more at stake than ever.