Hi, I am a new user

Raj

Chrono Cadet
Hello people,

This is my first time posting here, you have quite an interesting forum here. I registered here around a month ago, but for some reason it would never let me post. Now that is fixed; I migrated from my laptop back to my PC. I am joining because, well, time-travel does not make sense in the slightest to me, that does not mean it is not possible, I am not arrogant, I just need to learn more about it. Hence why I am here.

To me it's like this: The past is an existence that has elapsed, if you could somehow go back, you would cease to exist. Also if you tried to go back to a point in space, call it A if you may, from B, then the position of A relative to B in space/time is not the same as the position of A relative to B from your frame of reference. In other words you cannot go back.

I do however think it is possible to visit similar timelines in parallel dimensions, which is not technically time-travel, but it's the closest I can envisage to travelling backwards in time.

I know time travel forwards is possible, and it makes sense to me. Heck, as you know, we are time travelling forwards everytime. I see this similar as cryo-sleep. When you are in stasis, time elapses, and when you are revived you are at that point in time. Similarily, when you create an automonous zone of space/time, time elapses, and when the effect is over, you are at that point in time.

I do have one main predicament; if time-travel or indeed dimensional travel is possible, why aren't there time travellers visiting us now? We should be flooded with them, if it is possible. Please do not mention John Titor, his story is so ill-concieved, so unbelievable and naive, that it's astonishing how anyone could believe him.

To the "How come there are no time-travellers here now?" question -

There are three possible and only logical answers to this -

1) You can't time travel to the past