Tachyons and time travel

PaulaJedi

Rift Surfer
Although still a theory, a tachyon is said to be a particle that moves faster than the speed of light. The particle was first mentioned by a paper written in 1967 by Gerald Feinberg and he said that they could be a part of a quantum field that has imaginary mass. Because of this, physicists tend to use the word tachyon to instead discuss imaginary mass. According to the theory, they have four momentum. In other words, the momentum vector in the mathematical equation exists in 4 dimensions.

So, put your thinking cap on. If tachyons existed and if we could create them or find them, how would you build a time travel device using them?

Hello Paula,

I'm not a scientist, actually I'm a business guy, but maybe I can help. I am currently studying basic complex numbers (imaginary) and the basic idea of a imaginary number is they can be graphed vertically in a one dimension horizontal numberline(terrible definition - sorry :/ ).

How this makes sense to me is these vertical numbers are outside of the dimension but still accountable and may interact.

Why does this matter? It may be best to study nature first to learn how it works.

Then it lead to ask does matter have properties that extend in to the imaginary or outside our standard dimension, and if so how do we measure these occurrences?

i as the principal root of -1

Hello Paula,

Do you understand what I mean and why it is important for imaginary mass and mathematical equations in other dimensions?